video-camera
Live Board Meetings
photo
Parks & Rec
002-passport
Tourism

Planning Commission

03/25/2021 UPDATE: ALL PLANNING COMMISSION MEETINGS WILL BE HELD AT tHE sMITHFIELD CENTER 220 N. CHURCH STREET, SMITHFIELD, VA 23430 until further notice 

The Isle of Wight County Planning Commission is composed of ten (10) members, two (2) from each district. Planning Commission members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors member for the voting district they represent. Each member is appointed for a term of four (4) years.

The Planning Commission serves as a reviewing body for development projects in the County. The Planning Commission reviews development plans, Conditional Use Permits, Special Use Permits, and Rezonings. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on what actions should be taken concerning the project in question.

If you would like to know when the Planning Commission meets you can go to the Planning Commission Schedule.

If you would like to know what items will be discussed at the current meeting or would like to view a transcript of a previous meeting you can go to the Planning Commission Agendas and Minutes.

If you would like to watch a previously recorded Planning Commission meeting go to our On Demand Meeting Video Archive. Live streaming of a meeting in progress is available here.

If you would like to review the Bylaws which will provide further detail about how the members are appointed and how the meetings are conducted you can go to the Planning Commission Bylaws.

The contact information for each Planning Commission member is listed below. The Planning Commission can be contacted as a whole via email at PlanningCommission@iwus.net

Smithfield District

Mr. Thomas Duerig
417 Muirfield
Smithfield, VA 23430
(C) 757-617-6812
tduerig@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2024

Ms. Cynthia Taylor
103 Watch Harbour Circle
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6522
ctaylor@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Carrsville District

Mr. Brian Carroll, Chairman
8461 Stallings Creek Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-4254
bcarroll@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2022

Ms. Jennifer Boykin
28359 Walters Highway
Carrsville, VA 23315
(C) 757-646-8400
jboykin@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Hardy District

Mr. Bobby Bowser, Vice-Chairman
207 Red Oak Court
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6517
bbowser@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2025

Mr. James Ford
9614 Old Stage Highway
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-3522
jford@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2024

Windsor District

Mr. George Rawls
14441 Ramos Way
Carrollton, VA  23314
(C)  757-328-3109
grawls@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Mr. Glenn Seay
303 Longview Circle
Smithfield, VA 23430
(C)  757- 630-9048
gseay@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2024

Newport District

Mr. Thomas J. Distefano
15151 Batiste Court
Carrollton, VA  23314
tdistefano@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Mr. Edward Hulick, P.E.
20655 Creekside Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
whulick@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2025

Staff

Ms. Amanda Landrus
Planning Services Coordinator- acting secretary 
(O) 757-357-9206
alandrus@iwus.net