video-camera
Live Board Meetings
photo
Parks & Rec
002-passport
Tourism

Planning Commission


The Isle of Wight County Planning Commission is composed of ten (10) members, two (2) from each district. Planning Commission members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors member for the voting district they represent. Each member is appointed for a term of four (4) years.

The Planning Commission serves as a reviewing body for development projects in the County. The Planning Commission reviews development plans, Conditional Use Permits, Special Use Permits, and Rezonings. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on what actions should be taken concerning the project in question.

Planning Commission Agendas

On Demand Meeting Video Archive Live streaming of a meeting in progress is available here

Planning Commission Bylaws

The contact information for each Planning Commission member is listed below. The Planning Commission can be contacted as a whole via email at PlanningCommission@iwus.net

district 1 

Mr. Raynard Gibbs
112 Royal Aberdeen
Smithfield, VA 23430
757-592-3683
rgibbs@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Mr. Matthew Smith
93 Barclay Crescent
Smithfield, VA 23430
757-705-9881
msmith@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2024

District 2

Ms. Cynthia Taylor
103 Watch Harbour Circle
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6522
ctaylor@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Mr. Thomas J. Distefano
15151 Batiste Court
Carrollton, VA  23314
tdistefano@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

District 3

Mr. Bobby Bowser, Vice-Chairman
207 Red Oak Court
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6517
bbowser@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2025

Mr. James Ford
9614 Old Stage Highway
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-3522
jford@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2024

District 4

Mr. George Rawls
14441 Ramos Way
Carrollton, VA  23314
(C)  757-328-3109
grawls@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Mr. Rick Sienkiewicz
23278 Spring Crest Drive
Carrollton, VA 23314
(C) 757-630-4167
rsienkiewicz@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2025

District 5

Mr. Brian Carroll, Chairman
8461 Stallings Creek Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-4254
bcarroll@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2026

Ms. Jennifer Boykin
28359 Walters Highway
Carrsville, VA 23315
(C) 757-646-8400
jboykin@isleofwightus.net
Term Expires February 2023

Staff

Ms. Amanda Landrus
Planning Services Coordinator-  Secretary 
(O) 757-357-9206
alandrus@iwus.net