video-camera
Live Board Meetings
photo
Parks & Rec
002-passport
Tourism

Meet the Staff

Director:    
David Smith 757.357.2291 dsmith@isleofwightus.net
     
Recreation Manager: LaTanya Turner 757.357.5951 lturner@isleofwightus.net
Parks Manager: Gary Askew 757.357.4466 gaskew@isleofwightus.net

Fair/Events Coordinator    
Jenilee Hallman  757.357.5959   jhallman@isleofwightus.net

 

Recreation Specialists:    
Kelly Harcum 757.356.0851 kharcum@isleofwightus.net
Regine Walme-Edwards 757.365.6328 rwalme-edwards@isleofwightus.net
Amy Couser 757.365.6325 acouser@isleofwightus.net
William Winstead 757.242.8513 wwinstead@isleofwightus.net

 

Note From the Director:
Hello Isle of Wight County! Allow me to introduce myself, my name is David Smith and I am your Parks and Recreation Director. It is truly an honor to provide recreational opportunities for you and your family. I have,  served this wonderful profession for over 30 years. I am so excited to provide quality  parks and recreation activities and locations for your enjoyment.

I would like to take this opportunity to introduce, or re-introduce to you some of your dedicated Parks and Recreation Department staff. Whether you are a frequent user of our facilities and programs, are like me new to the area, or if it has been some time since you last visited us, let me share with you some of the reasons I am energized to be here.

We have a tireless parks maintenance staff led by Gary Askew that works behind the scenes to make sure our parks are safe and maintained. From Nike Park to Camptown Park, this group of dedicated men and women keep our parks operating. If park maintenance was all that their duties entailed that would be plenty, but I have discovered just what a wide range of functions they perform in addition to keeping our parks looking nice. I think you, the citizens would be surprised and proud of all this group does for our community. They are a small group that nets big results. Our parks maintenance staff are the backbone of our department and allow us to do all the programs, activities and special events we do.

Our recreation programming staff is led by LaTanya Turner and she has a creative group of programmers consisting of Kelly Harcum, Regine Walme-Edwards, Amy Couser and William Winstead. These professionals provide a wide variety of activities for toddlers to seniors including athletics, before and after school and senior programming. They strive to have something for everyone and if a program is not currently offered, just give them a call and they will be happy to give it a go. The programs and activities that this group provides are the reason that parks and recreation exists.

Do you want high energy? Look no further than Jenilee Hallman, our Fair/Events Coordinator. From the Veteran’s Day Celebration to the 4th of July fireworks in Smithfield and Windsor, Jenilee works tirelessly to provide excellent events as well as the award winning Isle of Wight County Fair. You will find our special events are first rate and are the activities you will want to do with your family.

I have been blessed to have the opportunity to work with this dynamic group, in one of the greatest professions, in this amazing community….and I am looking forward to it!