Planning Commission

P&Z Home >Boards and Commissions >Planning Commission

 

The Isle of Wight County Planning Commission is composed of ten (10) members, two (2) from each district. Planning Commission members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors member for the voting district they represent. Each member is appointed for a term of four (4) years.

The Planning Commission serves as a reviewing body for development projects in the County. The Planning Commission reviews development plans, Conditional Use Permits, Special Use Permits, and Rezonings. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on what actions should be taken concerning the project in question.

If you would like to know when the Planning Commission meets you can go to the Planning Commission Schedule.

If you would like to know what items will be discussed at the current meeting or would like to view a transcript of a previous meeting you can go to the Planning Commission Agendas and Minutes.

If you would like to review the Bylaws which will provide further detail about how the members are appointed and how the meetings are conducted you can go to the Planning Commission Bylaws.

The contact information for each Planning Commission member is listed below. The Planning Commission can be contacted as a whole via email at PlanningCommission@iwus.net

 

Smithfield District

Mr. Thomas Duerig
417 Muirfield
Smithfield, VA 23430
(C) 757-617-6812
tduerig@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2020

Ms. Cynthia Taylor, Vice-Chairwoman
103 Watch Harbour Circle
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6522
ctaylor@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2019

 

Carrsville District

Mr. Brian Carroll
8461 Stallings Creek Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-4254
jbriancarroll@gmail.com

Term Expires February 2018

Mr. Don G. Rosie
29557 Walter Highway
Carrsville, VA 23315
(C) 757-353-9667
drosie@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2019

Hardy District

Mr. Bobby Bowser
 207 Red Oak Court
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6517
bbowser@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2021

Mr. James Ford, Chairman
9614 Old Stage Highway
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-3522
jford@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2020

Windsor District

Mr. William G. Saunders, IV
14547 Five Forks Road
Windsor, VA 23487
(H) 757-242-4641
wsaunders@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2020

Mr. James P. O’Briant, III
9 Holland Drive
Windsor, VA 23487
(H) 757-242-4359
jobriant@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2019

 

Newport District

Mr. Richard L. Gillerlain
 22501 Tally Ho Drive
Carrollton, VA  23314
(C) 757-279-0623
rgillerlain@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2019

Mr. Edward Hulick, P.E.
20655 Creekside Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
whulick@isleofwightus.net

Term Expires February 2021

 

Staff

Ms. Melinda Goodwyn
(O) 757-365-6316
mgoodwyn@iwus.net

About IOW County
AFDAC
Assessments
Athletics and Sports
BUDGET DOCUMENTS
Board of Supervisors
BZA
Citizen Self Service
Commission on Aging
County Fair
County TV
Elections
HARC
Hurricane
FOIA Requests
IOW Home Page
IOW Home Page
IWAlert
Map Gallery
Newcomers Guide
Nike Park SK8
Pay Animal Services
Pay Emergency Services
Pay for Permit
Pay Taxes
Pay Water Bill
Pet License
Planning Commission
Property Map
Public Records
Purchasing
Recreation
Surplus Items
Transportation
Wetlands Board

Novus BoardWeb
Employee Portal

A community of CHOICE committed to excellence.