Planning Commission

The Isle of Wight County Planning Commission is composed of ten (10) members, two (2) from each district. Planning Commission members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors member for the voting district they represent. Each member is appointed for a term of four (4) years.

The Planning Commission serves as a reviewing body for development projects in the County. The Planning Commission reviews development plans, Conditional Use Permits, Special Use Permits, and Rezonings. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on what actions should be taken concerning the project in question.

If you would like to know when the Planning Commission meets you can go to the Planning Commission Schedule.

If you would like to know what items will be discussed at the current meeting or would like to view a transcript of a previous meeting you can go to the Planning Commission Agendas and Minutes.

If you would like to watch a previously recorded Planning Commission meeting go to our On Demand Meeting Video Archive. Live streaming of a meeting in progress is available here.

If you would like to review the Bylaws which will provide further detail about how the members are appointed and how the meetings are conducted you can go to the Planning Commission Bylaws.

The contact information for each Planning Commission member is listed below. The Planning Commission can be contacted as a whole via email at

Smithfield District

Mr. Thomas Duerig
417 Muirfield
Smithfield, VA 23430
(C) 757-617-6812
Term Expires February 2020

Ms. Cynthia Taylor
103 Watch Harbour Circle
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6522
Term Expires February 2023

Carrsville District

Mr. Brian Carroll, Chairman
8461 Stallings Creek Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-4254
Term Expires February 2022

Ms. Jennifer Boykin
28359 Walters Highway
Carrsville, VA 23315
(C) 757-646-8400
Term Expires February 2023

Hardy District

Mr. Bobby Bowser, Vice-Chairman
207 Red Oak Court
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-6517
Term Expires February 2021

Mr. James Ford
9614 Old Stage Highway
Smithfield, VA 23430
(H) 757-357-3522
Term Expires February 2020

Windsor District

Mr. George Rawls
14441 Ramos Way
Carrollton, VA  23314
(C)  757-328-3109
Term Expires February 2023

Ms. Roberta Varner
204 Longview Circle
Smithfield, VA 23430
(C)  757- 880-2351
Term Expires February 2020

Newport District

Mr. Thomas J. Distefano
15151 Batiste Court
Carrollton, VA  23314
Term Expires February 2023

Mr. Edward Hulick, P.E.
20655 Creekside Drive
Smithfield, VA 23430
Term Expires February 2021


Ms. Melinda Goodwyn
(O) 757-365-6316


About IOW County
Athletics and Sports
Board of Supervisors
Citizen Self Service
Commission on Aging
County Fair
County TV
FOIA Requests
IOW Home Page
IOW Home Page
Isle Cares Site
Map Gallery
Newcomers Guide
Nike Park SK8
Pay Animal Services
Pay Emergency Services
Pay for Permit/Inspection
Pay Taxes
Pay Water Bill
Pet License
Planning Commission
Property Map
Public Records
Surplus Items
Wetlands Board

Novus BoardWeb
Employee Portal

A community of CHOICE committed to excellence.