Historic Architectural Review Committee

The Isle of Wight County Historic Architectural Review Committee (HARC) is a Board-appointed, 5 person committee formed to provide “oversight in the administration of historic district provisions” for the County’s 4 designated Historic Overlay Districts (Zoning Ordinance Section 6-3003).

No “building or structure, including signs, shall be erected, reconstructed, substantially altered, or restored within any historic district” without application to the HARC for review and approval (Zoning Ordinance Section 6-3006).

The HARC meets the 1st Wednesday of every month, as needed, at 3:00 PM in the Robert C. Claud Sr. Board Room at the County Courthouse Complex.

Applications are due 30 days prior to the meeting.  There is currently no fee for HARC applications.

HARC Application

You can submit applications and plans via email to planreview@iwus.net (applications must be in one complete PDF file to submit digitally) or they can be submitted in our office between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm. Our address is 17140 Monument Circle, Suite 101, Isle of Wight VA 23397.

If you are interested in the minutes of an HARC meeting please contact the HARC  secretary Richard Rudnicki at (757)365-6276 or rrudnicki@iwus.net.

In accordance with the HARC By-Laws, committee members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors for a term of 4 years.  Following guidance from the Virginia Department of Historic Resources, the HARC’s Bylaws specify that that “at least one (1) member shall be an architect or an architectural historian meeting the professional qualification standards of 36 CFR 61, Appendix A.  At least two (2) members shall have professional training or equivalent experience in any of the following disciplines: architecture, history, architectural history, archeology, or planning.” If you would like to review the Bylaws which will provide further detail about how the members are appointed and how the meetings are conducted you can go to the HARC Bylaws.

Projects located within the St. Luke’s Historic District have the opportunity to be handled administratively by following the St. Luke’s Historic District Design Guidelines. If you are located within the St. Luke’s Historic District and would like more information please click HERE.


Current HARC Members

Carrsville District
Charles L. Powell
23478 Thomas Woods Trail
Zuni, Virginia  23898
(H) 757-242-4591
Term Expires:  January 2022
Hardy District
Wayne Lee Duncan
12170 Modest Neck Road
Ivor, Virginia  23866
(H) 757-356-1112
Term Expires:  January 2023
Newport District
Russell J. Parrish, AIA — CHAIRMAN 
436 Spring Hill Place
Smithfield, Virginia  23430
(C) 757-620-1186
Term Expires:  April 2023
[/ezcol_2third] [ezcol_1third_end]
Smithfield District
Carolyn A. Keen
114 Commodore Lane
Smithfield, VA  23430
Term Expires: November 2019
Windsor District
Durwood Scott — VICE CHAIRMAN 
PO BOX 343
Windsor, Virginia  23487
(H) 757-242-6528
(C) 757-620-9375
Term Expires:  September 2020
If you are interested in serving on the HARC, please contact Richard Rudnicki, Assistant Director of Planning and Zoning/HARC Secretary at (757)365-6276 or rrudnicki@iwus.net to have your name and qualifications put on file for consideration for future appointments.
About IOW County
Athletics and Sports
Board of Supervisors
Citizen Self Service
Commission on Aging
County Fair
County TV
FOIA Requests
IOW Home Page
IOW Home Page
Isle Cares Site
Map Gallery
Newcomers Guide
Nike Park SK8
Pay Animal Services
Pay Emergency Services
Pay for Permit/Inspection
Pay Taxes
Pay Water Bill
Pet License
Planning Commission
Property Map
Public Records
Surplus Items
Wetlands Board

Novus BoardWeb
Employee Portal

A community of CHOICE committed to excellence.