A statewide ban on open burning takes effect February 15th, and lasts until April 30. This time of year typically sees dry, windy weather.
Virginia averages about 1,200 wildfires per year, consuming an average of 10,000 acres. Officials don’t expect anything different this year.
With that in mind, the burn ban goes from February 15 to April 30. Open burning is prohibited between midnight and 4 p.m. within 300 feet of woods, brush land, or fields of dry grass.
January – December 2016, the state of Virginia reported 65,575 fires; burned 5,446,520 acres which is 83.1 acres burned/fire.
Frequently asked questions:
What is the 4 p.m. Law?
The 4 p.m. Law is a ban (or restriction) on open air burning before 4 o’clock in the afternoon if your fire is within 300 feet of the woods or dry grass which can carry the fire to the woods. You are allowed to burn between 4 p.m and midnight as long as you take proper care and precaution and attend your fire at all times.
When is the 4 p.m. Law in effect?
The law goes into effect on February 15th each year and runs through April 30th.
Why is there a 4 p.m. Law?
The 4 p.m. Law was adopted during the 1940’s to reduce the number of wildfires which occurred each spring. During this time of the year, Virginia traditionally has an increased number of fires. During the winter months, winds are usually elevated, the relative humidity is lower and the fuels on the forest floor are extremely dry, having “cured” without having the tree leaves to shade them.
Why 4 o’clock?
After 4 p.m., winds usually calm down and the relative humidity levels are on the increase, both of which reduce the potential for a debris fire or any outdoor open air fire to escape your control.
What is the main cause of wildfires in Virginia?
Debris burning is the Number One cause of wildfires, closely followed by intentionally set or “arson” fires.
Can I have a campfire if I put rocks around it?
No. Campfires are considered an open air fire. A recreational fire such as a campfire MAY be approved IF it meets ALL of the following:
- The fire is completely contained within a ring of rocks, cinder blocks, metal ring or similar device and also covered by a ¼” or smaller metal screen. A fire built in a pit with a similar metal screen may also be approved.
- In all cases the fire must be attended at all times and an extra precaution should be taken by clearing a 20 foot area around the “fire” from all flammable material. Ready access to water, rake and shovel should also be provided for.
- Fires built in commercially available chimneys or fire pits are not considered to be open air fires and therefore legal IF they are complete and in good condition to prevent the spread of fire to surrounding areas.
If I take all precautions with my fire after 4 p.m. and it does escape and start a fire, am I responsible?
Yes. Although you may have taken all proper precautions and obtained any locally required permits, whoever started the fire is responsible should the fire escape.
Can I use my charcoal or gas fire fired barbecue grill? Yes. However, you must take proper care and precaution by clearing all flammable material from around it and you must stay with it until it is completely extinguished or turned off.
Are building contractors and road construction jobs exempt from the 4 p.m. law?
No. However, if the burning operations are greater than 300 feet from the woods or flammable grass/vegetation which would allow the fire to spread to the woods the 4 p.m. law does not apply